Autumn Macarthur

Real romance, real faith!

Calm & Bright: Huckleberry Lake Book 1

Cover image for sweet and clean Idaho set Christmas romance novella, Calm & Bright, by Christian author Autumn Macarthur

Even a matchmaking grandmother and an adorable four year old might not be enough to help this couple reunite!

This Christmas, Brad Hughes hopes he can convince his ex-wife Maddie he’s not the unreliable, workaholic charmer she married young and then divorced. They’ll be together over the holidays, for the sake of their four year old son.
But what chance do they have of becoming a family again, when she’s returned to the tiny Idaho lakeside community she grew up in, and he’s a city boy through and through? And that’s before they deal with the issues that came between them in the past.
Can they allow God to heal their broken marriage and broken hearts before his career tears them apart once more?

I adore Christmas! Yummy food, fairy lights, decorating the tree, giving and receiving gifts—the big kid in me delights in all that! Plus it’s a time for family, faith, and love, all things that mean a lot to me. And they’re all important elements of my new novella Calm & Bright, too. It’s a story of finding home, a second chance at love, and the greatest gift of all—the gift of a second chance with God. I’ve wanted to write this story since my spring release in 2015, Forget Paris. Brad appears in it very briefly, and unfortunately he’s a bit of a jerk! Okay, a LOT of a jerk! But I treasure knowing none of us is such a jerk we can’t be redeemed by love and faith. That earlier story woke Brad up that he needed to change, and in this book, he finds his heart’s true home. I’ve enjoyed writing it so much! And I hope you’ll enjoy reading it, too.

This book begins a series set in beautiful Huckleberry Lake, Idaho! Every book is a complete romance, following a different couple through the trials and joys of a developing love, deepening their faith in the process, until they’re ready for the happy-ever-after God has planned for them.

Includes a bonus recipe!

Ebook and larger-print paperback available at Amazon:
Ebook can also be purchased from most major ebooksellers:

And if you prefer to listen to stories, it’s available in audiobook, beautifully narrated by Sarah Kate!

Other books in the series:
Book 2 : Imperfectly Proverbs 31
Book 3: Midnight Clear

If you love audiobooks, try a free trial of Audible Plus, an all-you-can-listen membership that offers access to thousands of titles, including a vast array of audiobooks, podcasts and originals that span genres, lengths, and formats! (I am an Amazon Associate, so if you sign up for a trial using this link, I will receive a small payment at no additional cost to you.)